Understanding Google's Free/Busy time

When creating an event from Google calendar, the default sets the event as Busy. Other folks looking at your calendar will see the time block as unavailable.

When you create an event as Free, the event is added to your calendar and will be visible only to you but not to others.


How Reclaim uses Free/Busy signals

Reclaim leverages Free and Busy signals on your calendar to keep your time flexible.

When events are added to your calendar by Reclaim, they will be often initially be added as Free and later flip to Busy as your day fills up or as time draws closer to the start time of the event. This means that you'll see a number of events on your calendar that your colleagues will not until those events flip to Busy.

Here is a look at how this works in practice:

Free/busy time in Reclaim

Reclaim also leverages Free and Busy signals for deciding when your time gets blocked to others for events from your personal calendar.

For example:

  1. You're invited to an event on your personal calendar.

  2. Reclaim will add a block on your work calendar but will mark it as Free.

  3. When you RSVP "Yes" or "Maybe", the event gets marked as Busy.

Did this answer your question?