Changing your default settings for Reclaim Tasks

You can change default settings for your Tasks that will be used for any new tasks you create.

Updated over a week ago

Reclaim pulls from a set of 'default settings' when you create a new Task in Reclaim or in an integration. These default settings auto-fill scheduling rule fields if you don't specify them for the new Task item.

You can update these default settings for how you want Reclaim to schedule Tasks.

Updating your default Task settings

Manage and update your default Task settings from the Reclaim app under Settings > General > Default Task settings.

Below is a breakdown of each field and how it impacts task scheduling:

Duration

The default duration that Reclaim will schedule for Tasks when they're created.

Hours

You can set whether you want Reclaim to use your Personal or Working (Solo Work) hours by default when creating Tasks.

Priority

Set the default priority level you want to set for new Tasks, as well as whether you want to automatically send them to Up Next.

Event duration

Set the default minimum and maximum event duration for how long you want to spend working on a Task at a time. This will ensure that Reclaim schedules events that are at least a certain length, and no more than a certain length when Reclaim needs to break up longer Tasks into smaller blocks.

Start delay and due date

You can set the default 'earliest starting date' for a Task as well as the due date you want to use. These are expressed as rolling time windows, so they will always be relative to the when you create a Task.

For example, if you pick 1hr for your Delay start and 3 days for your Due in โ€“ all new Tasks will start no sooner than 1h from the time of creation and will be due within 3 days from that time.

Visibility

You can set the default privacy for tasks that are created to either make them private to all others, or to use your default calendar privacy settings.

Tasks that are done scheduling

You can let Reclaim automatically reopen or close your Tasks that are done scheduling after a cooldown period by selecting one of three options here (learn more about auto-close/auto-reopen in here).

When are default Task settings applied?

Default Task settings are automatically updated when you change them under settings.

Note that updated settings will apply to newly created Tasks, but will not change existing Tasks.

Default Task settings are applied to:

  • Tasks created via the Reclaim app

  • Tasks synced from Task integrations

Default Task settings are not applied to:

Did this answer your question?