We believe that a great calendar communicates just enough context to people who want to book time with you. Rather than just limiting you to the privacy options provided by Google Calendar, we've created a variety of ways for you to show details of synced event copies on destination calendars.
How to change privacy options for synced events
You can modify the privacy options for synced events as they'll appear on your destination calendar for any sync policy. To change your privacy options, first go to Settings -> Calendar Sync and find the sync policy you want to modify.
Click on the sync policy to edit it. Before you set your privacy settings, be sure to select the Calendar Type so that your privacy options properly reflect the kind of events being synced.
You'll see an area called Privacy, where you can modify your privacy settings as well as see a preview of how it will appear to others, how it will appear to you, and what the original source event details looked like.
Select the privacy option that you want and hit "Start Syncing" to save your changes.
What do these different options mean?
There are a variety of ways that Reclaim will let you show off your synced events to others on your destination calendar. Here's a quick rundown on each of them:
"Personal / Work / Travel Commitment" events
With this setting, synced events on your destination calendar will show that you're busy for either a Work / Travel / Personal Commitment -- depending on what the Calendar Type is -- and will make them publicly visible to others who view your destination calendar. The idea is to show people that you're busy for something specific, but without giving away all the details of the source event.
Note: this privacy setting will use the term "Personal / Travel / Work Commitment" for almost all events, with the exception of flights. If Reclaim detects a flight on your calendar, it will be synced over as "Flight".
Simple "Busy" events
With this setting, people who view your destination calendar will see synced events show as "busy", with no other details. This setting is most similar to setting your Google Calendar to private so that people can't see any details of the events on your schedule.
Full event details, but marked as private
This setting will mark the synced event as private, meaning others will just see it as busy, but will allow you to see all the event's details including the description, location, and video/audio conference details. Note: if you've given others "make changes to events" permissions for your calendar in Google as outlined here, they will see all the event's details. IT administrators in your company may also be able to see these events.
Full event details, but marked with your default calendar privacy
This is the same as above, except using your default privacy settings in Google Calendar. This offers up the option to keep your events private from most people, but still visible to anyone you've shared calendar details with. Note: because this option is rarely used, it is not offered as an option during initial signup. However, you can change it after signup in your Calendar Sync Settings.