Reclaim's Jira integration allows you and your team to sync issues from any project within your Atlassian Jira workspace, and automatically blocks time for them using Tasks. This guide will show you how to add the integration to your workspace, and how to enable it as a user once the integration has been added.

Requirements for installing and using the Jira integration

  • In order to add the Jira integration to a Jira workspace, you must be a Jira administrator.

  • Your Jira workspace must contain at least one Jira project.

  • Your Jira workspace must be hosted using Jira Cloud. On-premise installs of Jira are not currently supported.

  • The following fields must be enabled on the default issue screen for any projects that you want to use the integration with:

    • Log work

    • Time tracking

    • Original estimate (if enabling the integration on a Team-managed Project in Jira)

    • Due date and/or fix version and/or Sprint

Installing the Jira integration as a Jira administrator

As a Jira administrator, you can add the integration to your workspace in just a couple steps:

  • Go to the Atlassian Marketplace link for the integration

  • Click the Get it now button in the top right of the page

  • If you're the administrator of more than one Jira workspace, you'll be prompted to select the workspace where you'd like the integration installed. You can install the integration across as many workspaces as you'd like.

  • You'll be prompted to review and grant permissions from your workspace to the integration. Once you've reviewed them, confirm the integration to complete the installation.

  • You're all done -- now any user in the workspace can enable the integration.

Note: if you're not a Jira administrator, you can use the Atlassian Marketplace link to the integration to request installation by an administrator.

Enabling the integration as a user in Jira

Once the integration has been added by a Jira administrator, any user in the workspace can enable the integration from a Jira issue. Here's how to do it.


First, navigate to any Jira issue and click the Reclaim button. Sometimes it may be hidden behind a ... menu.

This will bring up a prompt asking you to review and grant permissions to Reclaim.

Once you approve those permissions, you'll see a link in the issue that says Finish connecting to Reclaim. Click that link and you'll be taken to the Reclaim app.

If you already have a Reclaim account, log in. Otherwise, you'll need to sign up for a new account. The integration is now enabled!

Configuring the integration in Reclaim

When you finish enabling the integration, you can go to its settings in Reclaim. The main setting is deciding whether you want to manually sync issues from Jira to Reclaim, or if you want Reclaim to sync issues automatically.

image

If you have the integration installed across multiple Jira workspaces that you have access to, you can select different sync settings for different workspaces.

  • Manually sync specific issues: issues won't be synced to Reclaim until you click the "Schedule with Reclaim" button within a Jira issue.

  • Automatically sync all issues: issues will sync automatically once they have all the required fields.

Note that whether you select manual or automatic sync, a Jira issue must contain an estimate and a due date (or fix version, or Sprint) in order for it to be synced to Reclaim. It must also be assigned to you, or to another user who also has the integration enabled in Jira.

Syncing your first Jira issue to Reclaim

Now that you've got the integration added, enabled, and configured, it's time to sync your first Jira issue to Reclaim. Head over to your Jira project and select any issue that you want to sync.

In order for a Jira issue to be synced to Reclaim, it must have an estimate, a due date and/or fix version and/or Sprint, and be assigned to a user with an email registered in Reclaim who has the integration enabled.

When you pull up a Jira issue that doesn't have all the required fields that Reclaim needs in order to sync it, this is what you'll see:

As indicated in the message above, we still need to add those required fields to the issue in order for Reclaim to sync it.

If you have manual sync enabled, this is what you'll see:

The Schedule via Reclaim button will sync the issue to Reclaim, which will automatically block time for it on your calendar. You'll see a screen with a link to the associated task in Reclaim as well as when its first event is scheduled for:

If you have automatic sync on, the above screen will also be what you see assuming all the required fields are present.

Note: sometimes you'll need to refresh your browser in order to see updated states on your Jira issues.

Workflow tips for using the integration

Reclaim's Jira integration syncs status in both directions -- from Jira to Reclaim and vice-versa -- to help you track time, log your work, and automatically clear your calendar once an issue is complete. Here is a short list of tips to help you use it:

  • Reclaim will attempt to schedule your Jira issue on your calendar before its due date, fix version, or Sprint end date. If multiple fields are present, Reclaim will pick the earliest date. Adjusting your due date, fix version, or Sprint end date will automatically change how events for that issue are scheduled.

  • Once an event on your calendar associated with a synced Jira issue begins, work will get automatically logged in the Jira issue's Time tracking section

  • If you move an issue in Jira to a Done state, Reclaim will automatically consider the task complete. That means that Reclaim will log any work that has been completed prior to then and remove any upcoming events for the issue on your calendar. For example, if you move an issue in Jira to Done after completing 2 out of 4 estimated hours, Reclaim will log 2 hours and remove the upcoming 2 hours from your calendar.

  • If you mark an issue as Complete in Reclaim, Reclaim will not automatically move it to Done in Jira, but will indicate in the Jira issue that the task is complete in Reclaim and log work accordingly.

  • If an issue is deleted from Jira, the task will be deleted from Reclaim.

Disconnecting the Jira integration

Admins can go in and delete the app from the workspace from the Manage Apps section of Jira at any time.

Alternatively, if you're a non-admin user and no longer wish to have your issues sync to Reclaim, you can click the Disconnect button from the Settings area in Reclaim.

Did this answer your question?