As part of our commitment to user privacy, and as part of our belief that good software should always put you in control, we're proud to offer a self-service delete capability that will automatically clean up your calendar as well as permanently delete all of your data from our systems. This document will show you how to delete your account in Reclaim.

Account deletion is permanent and cannot be undone.

Prepare to delete your account

Before deleting your account, you might consider reading this guide and disabling a number of features in Reclaim.

We recommend doing this first, because the cleanup job that Reclaim has to do on your calendar can sometimes result in Google Calendar "rate limiting" -- or slowing down -- the cleanup process. By disabling your Habits, Sync Policies, and other Reclaim events, you lessen the likelihood of this happening to you. Once you disable stuff, wait a few minutes for things to settle down before proceeding to delete your account.

Do not delete your account by revoking access directly through your Google Security settings. This will cause your account to be stranded, and we won't be able to clean up the calendar without you signing up again.

Delete your Reclaim account

  1. Go to your profile.

  2. Click Delete from within the "Delete everything" section at the bottom.

  3. Click Confirm.

Please wait up to an hour from deleting your account for Reclaim to finish cleaning up your calendar.

After deleting your account

What happens with my data?

Reclaim will clear all Reclaim-created events — including any synced copies of events from Calendar Sync — as well as delete all your user and account data from our systems. This process can take up to an hour to complete fully.

For users on a team

If you have a paid seat as part of a Reclaim team, your seat will become available for your administrator to assign to someone else. If you are the sole user and have a paid plan, your subscription will automatically be set to not renew at the next billing cycle.

Unsubscribe from our emails

Please note that deletion does not automatically unsubscribe you from our emails and weekly reports. To unsubscribe, simply click the "unsubscribe" email at the bottom of any Reclaim email and set your email preferences there.

My calendar still has events after deleting. Help!

As mentioned above, sometimes Reclaim will fail to fully clean up the calendar due to rate limiting from Google's APIs. If you are finding after waiting an hour that Reclaim still hasn't cleaned up your calendar, try running the process again by performing the following steps:

  1. Sign back up for Reclaim using the original email you used for your deleted account

  2. Say "No" to all the steps in onboarding

  3. Repeat the deletion steps

  4. Wait a few minutes for the process to complete

If you are still seeing events on your calendar after having performed these steps, contact support for more assistance.


Related articles

Take a break from Reclaim

Did this answer your question?