Quick overview

Reclaim's Slack integration can automatically update your Slack status as well as set your Do Not Disturb during events where you want to stay in focus mode.

You can decide which categories of events you want your status updated for, whether or not you want to set the status to Do Not Disturb, and even customize what the status message looks like.

Turn on Slack status update

  1. Ensure the Reclaim Slack integration added to your workspace and have an active Reclaim account connected to it.

  2. Navigate to Reclaim bot's home page in Slack

  3. Click Settings.

  4. Click Turn On next to "Status Sync"

You'll start to see your Slack status show next to your username in Slack:

Customize your Status Sync settings

You can control how your status appears to others in Slack.

  1. Navigate to Reclaim bot's home page in Slack.

  2. Click Settings.

  3. Click Status Settings.

Reclaim gives you three options for setting your status automatically:

  • Status determined by Category: this setting will automatically set your status to a default message that shows the category of the calendar event and no other details (e.g., "In a 1:1").

  • Set status to "Busy" for all events: this setting will automatically set your status to "Busy" for all events and no other details.

  • Custom status + do not disturb: this setting will allow you to set your own status messages as well as turn on Do Not Disturb for particular categories of events.

Using custom status updates

When you select Custom status + do not disturb, you will have additional customization options for how you want your Slack status appears to others:

You can set the Status Message based on event category. For example, you could set your status for Personal events to "I'm doing something personal".

You can also opt to include the title of the event automatically using a handy parameter called {title}. Use this parameter to show the title of the event as it appears to you on your calendar.

Example: Setting a custom status for Deep Solo Work events

Heads down on - {title}: will show the status message of "Heads down on - [Title as shown to you on your calendar]" anything Reclaim detects that you're in a Deep Solo Work event.

Set events to Do Not Disturb

Do Not Disturb will snooze notifications for calls and messages in Slack. By default, Do Not Disturb is turned off.

To set Do Not Disturb for certain categories of events, check the box next to "Enable Do Not Disturb for..." under the event category you'd like to enable Do Not Disturb for.

The first time you enable Do Not Disturb, you'll be prompted to give the Slack integration an additional permission to set Do Not Disturb on your behalf. Click the link and finish setting up permissions in the browser window that opens:

Once you've turned on Do Not Disturb for a given category, anytime you're busy for an event in that category your colleagues will see a note in Slack that you've paused notifications when they attempt to send you a message.

Note

  • If you're using the default privacy setting for your Habits in Reclaim, Reclaim will show the full name of that Habit in your Slack Status, regardless of which privacy setting you've picked in the Slack integration.

  • Reclaim will only set your status for events that are marked as Busy.

  • If two or more events are overlapping and conflicting on your calendar, Reclaim will pick whichever event starts the latest between the conflicting events.

  • If two or more events are overlapping and conflicting with the exact same time range (e.g., Event A and Event B are both from 10-11am) Reclaim will pick the most recently updated event.

  • Reclaim will automatically clear your status if the event on your calendar is removed.

  • If you opt to "Clear Status" via your Slack profile settings, Reclaim will not re-attempt to set your status. It will remain cleared until a new event occurs that triggers a status sync.

Did this answer your question?