Reclaim hides private details from others on your primary calendar when copies of synced events are created. We understand that different people may have different preferences, so we've provided some options:

  • Generic "Personal Commitment" events, publicly visible (Recommended): with this setting, copies of personal events on your work calendar will show that you're busy for a Personal Commitment, Traveling, or On Vacation. We recommend this setting for personal events, as it will signal to your coworkers when you're busy for a personal event explicitly. 

This is an example of how these events will show to others on your primary calendar:

And this is how these events will show for you on your primary calendar:

  • Simple "Busy" blocks, with no context: with this setting, copies of synced events will be marked as "busy". No other details will be available.

This is an example of how these events will show others on your primary calendar:

And this is how these events will show for you on your primary calendar:

  • Full event details, but marked as private: this setting will mark the synced event as private, meaning others will just see it as busy, but will allow you to see all the event's details including the description, location, and video/audio conference details. Note: if you've given others "make changes to events" permissions for your calendar in Google as outlined here, they will see all the event's details. IT administrators in your company may also be able to see these events.
  • Full event details, but marked with your default calendar privacy: this is the same as above, except using the "default" privacy option. This offers up the option to keep your events private from most people, but still visible to anyone you've shared calendar visibility with. Note: because this option is rarely used, it is not offered as an option during initial signup. However, you can change it after signup in Settings.

This is an example of how these events will show to others on your primary calendar:

And this is how these events will show for you on your primary calendar:

To modify privacy settings, simply go to Settings -> Sync Sources in Reclaim and click on the account that has the calendar you'd like to modify:

Once you've accessed the account, you'll see a list of calendars that are associated with it. Find the calendar you want to modify and click Advanced Options:

Under Advanced Options, you can change your privacy preferences:

Did this answer your question?